Size Does Matter! (oh yeah!)

It’s an age-old debate.

We’ve all heard the rumblings in conversations we’ve taken part in or perhaps we’ve eavesdropped as others battled it out- “does size matter?”.    I’m here to tell you, first hand, that it does.

Now, before I offend anyone (and I have on occasion offended some who are faint of heart)- I’m talking about the size of our dreams and ambitions.  I think it’s pretty likely that many of us may be suffering from a temporary shrinking of our dreams because we’re feeling the squeeze of the economy.  We’re tightening our belts, scaling back our expenditures and doing away with a lot of the excesses we came to enjoy during the years of the abundance mentality.  But are we doing all of that to the detriment of the size of our dreams?

One of my favorite quotes is by James Allen who wrote the inspirational, self-help classic, As A Man Thinketh.  He very eloquently said:

Dream lofty dreams, and as you dream, so shall you become.

As someone who tends to be pretty frugal about spending my money, I’m certainly not encouraging anyone to go out and jump back in to the frivolous habits that helped create our credit crisis and the mortgage collapse.  I think a little frugality is what we Americans need in order to re-evaluate our belief systems about money.  In comparison to most societies, we tend to be over-indulgent and gluttonous.  We need balance when it comes to our spending power and our saving skills.  That’s an entirely different conversation.

What I am talking about now is reconnecting with our ability to dream and dream BIG!  If we scale down our dreams, we risk the chance of minimizing our potential and short-changing our accomplishments.  Dreaming big doesn’t hurt our savings accounts.  It doesn’t negatively affect our credit.  Dreaming big allows us to set new goals, soar to new heights and feel the sense of joy that comes when our dreams come true.

Here’s a few things that happened to me the other day that got me thinking about the size of my dreams.  It was one of those days when the convergence of several non-related conversations started me reflecting on the goals I was setting for myself and my family.  It was a little touch of serendipity because I ended the day with new, loftier aspirations for 2010.

·         Conversation #1 – My buddy Mark just finished building an amazing dream home in Hawaii.   But before moving in he was approached by “Hollywood” to see if he’d be interested in renting it out to the who’s who.  As it turns out, he is currently renting his place to Jennifer Aniston for a few weeks at an ungodly amount and has a movie producer wanting to lease it for 12 months for $800,000!

·         Conversation #2 – I’m in the gym with another buddy, David, who as a local jeweler has a real passion for creating amazing one-of-a-kind pieces for his clientele.  He tells me he is in escrow on several goldmines for $25,000,000.  Did I mention he already owns a few?  Oh, and he currently has $23,000,000 in inventory at his jewelry store!

·         Conversation #3 – Another friend, Sandy, comes over to have her son play with my son Rocket.  She’s just closed on a deal and is looking to purchase a CASTLE or CHATEAU in France or Italy.  Did I mention that is a 2nd home?!?!  On top of that, she’s made an offer on a home in my neighborhood which is listed for $7,5000,000 (down from $9,500,000).

The common denominator for me in these three conversations was not the amount of money each person was making, but that none of them had set their sights low just to avoid disappointment.  Each of these three people is successful in their own right, but they are also ordinary people as well.  They  are, however, extra-ordinary in the size of their dreams.

Like I said, I walked away from each conversation one step closer to realizing that size does matter.  I will always keep a tight reign on the money I work hard to earn, but I will never allow myself to let headlines and meltdowns dwindle the size of my dreams.  I encourage everyone out there to GO BIG!

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams.
Live the life you’ve imagined.

~Henry David Thoreau

1 Comment

  1. Chief, this is a freaking great post. Too many good people have given in to the status quo, or given up entirely on their BIG dreams. But now is the time to GO BIG. While the whiners and quitters have surrendered, the winners and champions are booming. Thanks for sharing the stories of your friends and their pursuits of BIG things.
    ~JT


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

