What’s Lady Gaga Have to Do With Real Estate?

Lady Gaga

What's Lady Gaga Have To Do With Real Estate?

Lately, my 8 year old daughter has me listening to Lady Gaga’s latest CD while we’re driving in the car.  I gotta admit that her music is kind of catchy!  Not exactly my style, I’m more of a guitar-driven rock-n-roller, but I find myself bopping my head along to Lady Gaga’s tunes.  “p-p-p poker face.”  And it started me thinking about the kind of people we admire in our lives.

We all have people that we hold in high esteem, some we know on a personal level while others we admire from afar.  I have people I respect for a whole myriad of reasons, from displays of personal kindness, incredible business acumen, or for being totally unique and committed to a set of goals and passions.  In the entertainment industry, I have always been a big fan of Madonna.  Not so much because of her music, but because of her incredible business sense and her ability to redefine herself on her own terms.  She is a chameleon who doesn’t appear to take NO for an answer.  It seems to me that Lady Gaga is much like Madonna in this regard.  She is incredibly unique, knows her key market and with her track record of recent hits- she is driven to succeed!  I don’t see her being likely to put her passions aside simply because someone else thinks her dreams are too lofty  or unattainable.

So exactly how does this road of thought lead me to real estate?  Well, I’ve been hearing lately from quite a few people who want to tell me (or should I say educate me!) on why real estate investing is a bad idea in today’s economic climate.  I’ve heard a whole host of reasons- from claims that we haven’t hit bottom yet when it comes to values declining or that it’s impossible to get a good deal at the foreclosure auctions because of competition driving up prices.

For me there are three important things that I  stay true to when it comes to investing in real estate- which for me has always been a strong passion (just like I am certain that music is for Madonna and Lady Gaga).

The first rule I stick to is that I never take NO for an answer.  If I am committed to a financial goal, I find a way to make it happen.  I might have to tweak things here or there, re-adjust my approach, but the point is that I make my dreams come true.  I don’t listen to nay-sayers and I don’t let others get in my way with their baseless “wisdom”.  Real estate is my way of making things happen for my family and no one is going to get in the way of me having the life I want for them.

Second, real estate investing is all about doing your homework and paying attention to the numbers. You can’t wait until after you buy a piece of property to determine your exit strategy.  You also shouldn’t go blindly into a market or a particular deal without doing your research or working with a team that can do it for you.

Third, I always make sure to be surrounded by like-minded people. A strong team of smart, driven, approachable people can make anything happen.  (I’d bet that Lady Gaga has a whole team of amazing people helping her catapult her career into the stratosphere).

We’ve been having such incredible success in the Las Vegas foreclosure market over the past year.  Our investors are singing a sweet tune with the returns we’ve been able to rack up through purchasing wholesale real estate at the courthouse auctions. Our principle approach is simple:  buy low, sell high!  History has shown this approach works and it’s working right now in markets like Las Vegas (and San Diego).  We do our research and then when we’re done, we go back and do even more research.  We know exactly what is going on in all aspects of the market.   Our investors trust their money to us because we provide results and we can illustrate this with our solid numbers.   Our team is made up of bright and highly-driven individuals, each with their own area of expertise.

So while we are closing one great deal after another, most people are missing out on the opportunities because they can’t stay connected to their passion to succeed.  Perhaps they lack the passion altogether.  Why are so many investors and/or potential investors so easily derailed by negativity and doomsday headlines?  While some people are looking for the hole in the boat (and subsequently drowning themselves), there’s another set of people who are out there achieving financial success (and waving from the shore).

So what does Lady Gaga have to do with real estate?  She offers us a good lesson in perseverance and passion and the importance of setting your sights on your dreams.

Incorporate these three basic rules and you can have your real estate profits soon sounding like music to your ears:

  1. Don’t take NO for an answer.
  2. Know your market (do your research)
  3. Surround yourself with great people

If I ever meet up with Lady Gaga, it might just be as we laugh all the way to the bank and stroll by all the dream crushers who tried to educate us on why we wouldn’t succeed.  The nay-sayers won’t know what hit ’em as we pass by them singing “can’t read my p-p-p poker face!”

1 Comment

  1. Excellent content!! Insightful and motivating!! Keep it coming!! ~TXC


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

